By BACT Media Unit – 14 December 2022

Basketball ACT’s 2023 U12 Junior Development squads are now complete!

The 2023 Basketball ACT U12 Junior Performance trials were held in November with dozens of talented athletes participating. Katty Swanston, the U12 Girls’ head coach noted “We had a large talent pool to pick from which is great for the future of basketball in the ACT. We can not wait to get the season started and look forward to what it has to bring.”

By carefully analysing all of the trial’s participants, coaches were able to select a squad of 40 boys and a squad of 40 girls to play for Canberra in the new year.

“I’m really excited about our 2023 squad.” said U12 Boys head coach Andrew Coulter. “We have a good mix of kids who have been in the program before, some talented bottom aged kids and a few kids with some good size, which was something that was missing from our 2022 squad”.

“The 2023 U12’s girls squad is looking strong”, Swanston added. “The girls will be putting in the work and we hope to get results on the court while making some friends along the way! Bring on 2023!”

Here are the full lists of players selected for the 2023 U12 Development squads:

2023 Under 12 Girls Squad

Head Coach: Katrina Swanston

  • Addison Wojtaszak (Rats)
  • Alexa Keough (Vikings)
  • Amelia Assenheim (Vikings)
  • Isla Cornforth (WCWD)
  • Lily Hart (TSC)
  • Maimuna Shave (Rats)
  • Meya Swanston (TSC)
  • Mikayla Giacomin (TSC)
  • Oluwatoni Olatunbosun (Flames)
  • Stephanie Espinosa (Rats)
  • Alba Murphy (Radford)
  • Anushka Rao (Stallions)
  • Claire Berger-Thomson (WCWD)
  • Eloise Rajic (Vikings)
  • Ilaria Pantano (Girls Grammar)
  • Jessica Ryall (Girls Grammar)
  • Madeleine Richardt (Radford)
  • Marli Buffier (Rats)
  • Sol Barrero Alonso (Wests)
  • Taylor Edmonds (Stallions)
  • Rylan Gleeson (Vikings)
  • Arabella Gates Allen (Rats)
  • Ella Amor (Vikings)
  • Emily Weiss (Girls Grammar)
  • Gurasees Gill (WCWD)
  • Jessica Joseph (Rats)
  • Juliet Halbmaier (Canberra Grammar)
  • Margot Dawes (Vikings)
  • Oyinkansola Ogundiran (Norths)
  • Paige Bell (WCWD)
  • Anokhi Gosai (Rats)
  • Ella Boland (Rats)
  • Ellie Causer (Stallions)
  • Emma Stincic (WCWD)
  • Georgia Winter (WCWD)
  • Harper Golledge (Rats)
  • Isabella Herbert (Wests)
  • Jessica Wing (WCWD)
  • Lauren Grant (Vikings)
  • Xaviera Toledo-Ocampo (WCWD)

2023 Under 12 Boys Squad

Head Coach: Andrew Coulter

  • Aaron Li (Canberra Grammar)
  • Aiden Millar (TSC)
  • Ajeet Goraya (Norths)
  • Archer Coulter (Norths)
  • Avidu Gunawardana (Rats)
  • Ben Hunter (Vikings)
  • Blake Jory (Canberra Grammar)
  • Brayden Jiang (Norths)
  • Chut Duoot (Rats)
  • Cooper Ridley (Rats)
  • Edwin Ritchie (Rats)
  • Eli Regan (Rats)
  • Eric Tian (Burgmann)
  • Ethan Shayler (Stallions)
  • Hamish Phillips (Stallions)
  • Harry Wang (Radford)
  • Hayden Morrison (Rats)
  • Hunter Jones (TSC)
  • Jake Ryan Fanning (WCWD)
  • Jake Van Der Snoek (WCWD)
  • James Inwood (Rats)
  • Jamie Bracic (Canberra Grammar)
  • Jasper Grant-Close (Stallions)
  • Jaxon Townsend (Queanbeyan)
  • Jordan Davidson (Vikings)
  • Joseph Lacey (Rats)
  • Lachlan Scott (Rats)
  • Lucas Shuttleworth (WCWD)
  • Luke Platt (WCWD)
  • Marcus Te Moananui (Radford)
  • Nate Blackford (Rats)
  • Nikolas Houliaras (Rats)
  • Noah Dobson-Shaw (WCWD)
  • Oliver Becher (Vikings)
  • Ryan Curtin (Stallions)
  • Tianchen Shi (Marist)
  • Wesley Anderson (Rats)
  • Zachary Dyska (Norths)
  • Zachary Stonham (Queanbeyan)
  • Zorowar Rishiraj (TSC)