By BACT Media Unit – 21 December 2022

Basketball ACT would like to announce athletes selected to participate in the 2023 Ivor Burge Championships, to be contested in Geelong, VIC on the of 13-19 February 2023.

In 2023, the Ivor Burge Championships have changed slightly – with the Women’s competition being played in a 3v3 format for the very first time. Basketball ACT will field a team with plenty of experience, with all four members having been involved with the Australian Pearls in recent years. Basketball ACT would like to congratulate the following on their selection:

  • Aeysha Williams;
  • Maddie Janssen;
  • Jasmin Funnell;
  • Cassandra Ivory

The ACT Ivor Burge Women’s team will be coached by Sarah Gersbach (Head Coach) and Daniel Ferrington (Assistant Coach). When discussing the team for 2023, Coach Gersbach said, “For the first time since taking on the Head Coach role we are fielding an all ACT based team. This is a really exciting opportunity, as it will allow us to prepare as a team leading into the event and not have to integrate interstate players. The talent coming through the program at the moment is exciting, all four players have been a part of the Australian Pearls team during their career.”

Meanwhile, the Men’s Championship will be contested in the 5v5 format. Basketball ACT won’t field a Men’s team at the 2023 Ivor Burge Championships, however will have three local representatives, compete in the Championships for New South Wales. Basketball ACT would like to congratulate the following for their selection:

  • Justin Koenig;
  • James Doyle;
  • Jack Littleton.

Congratulations to all on selection…