By BACT Media Unit

Basketball ACT held their Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday 28 February 2023, at Ainslie Football Club.

The majority of Basketball ACT’s community and school clubs were represented, and the Chair recognised the commitment and contribution of the members to the sport over a long period impacted by COVID and increasing pressures on court space.

Reports were presented by the President, the outgoing Chief Executive Officer, the Nominations Committee and the Honours and Awards Committee.

The Chair recognised the outstanding work of David Simpson over the past three years and welcomed the incoming CEO Nicole Bowles. It was noted there is a turnover of staff and on the Board.

Elections for three Board Directors’ positions were conducted, with the following nominees successfully voted onto to the Board – Kath Toohey, Nick Janssen and Nathan Vavic. Congratulations to those elected and thank you to the other nominees.

The meeting recognised the great contribution of outgoing Director Shane Lowndes to BACT and the Board’s operations.

A range of awards were then announced. Congratulations to all recipients.

2022 Life Membership

Christine Higgisson

2022 Outstanding Service Awards

Anne-Maree TaylorBrian Demmery

2022 Merit Awards

Alex Toohey (Australian Boomers and COE)Madilyn Janssen (Australian Pearls) 
Bowyn Beatty (COE and U19’s Emus Squad)Aeysha Williams (Australian Pearls)
Zara Russell (U15’s Australia – Oceania Championships)Jasmin Funnell (Australian Pearls)
Cameron Pender (U19’s Emus
Justin Koenig (Australian Boomerangs) 
Lachlan Smith (U19’s Emus
Elizabeth Tonks (WNBL Canberra Capitals) 
Maddi Thacker (FIBA Women’s
World Cup Official)
Chloe Tugliach (WNBL Canberra Capitals)
Annette Anderson (FIBA Women’s
World Cup Official)
Abby Solway (WNBL Canberra Capitals)
Suzanne Helson (FIBA Women’s
World Cup Official)
Natalie Hurst (WNBL Adelaide Lightning) 
Jack Taylor (FIBA Oceania
Championship Official and WNBL Official)
Mitchel Hudson (WNBL Official) 
Michelle Cosier (WNBL Official)