By BACT Media Unit – 17 October 2022

After a huge year on-court, the Basketball ACT family came together to celebrate the Junior season on Friday 14 October 2022, at the Junior Awards Night, at Canberra Southern Cross Club.

The Junior Awards Night recognised the Junior Premier League (JPL) season, presented major awards for our junior referee and officiating ranks, and recognised our representative players for 2022.

Guests also heard some insights from two former junior representatives, Jasmyn Boutzos and James Toohey, who are now members of the Canberra Nationals and Canberra Gunners in NBL1 East.

Congratulations to all award recipients.

2022 Junior Premier League Awards
2022 JPL U12G Best & FairestSamyra Mahajan (Stallions) & Milla Lane (Stallions)
2022 JPL U12B Best & FairestMax Montelibano (Vikings)
2022 JPL U14G Best & FairestPoppy Smith (Radford Suns)
2022 JPL U14B Best & FairestSonny Tait (TSC)
2022 JPL U16G Most Valuable Player (MVP)Zara Russell (Dodgers)
2022 JPL U16B Most Valuable Player (MVP)Solomon Duggan (Roadrunners)
2022 JPL U19G Most Valuable Player (MVP)Jayelin Janssen (Rats)
2022 JPL U19B Most Valuable Player (MVP)Tarik Ezzat (Vikings)
Cliff Ellis Memorial Shield
2022 WinnersGinninderra Rats
2022 Junior Referee Awards
2022 Rising Star AwardFraser Murray
2022 Most Capped Referee (Junior)Izaah Lee
2022 First Year Referee of the Year (Female)Caitlin Linden
2022 First Year Referee of the Year (Male)William Teoh
2022 Development Panel Member of the YearAva Waters-Blyth
2022 Willyama Services Female Referee of the YearHannah Creighton
2022 Willyama Services Male Referee of the YearRyan Blundell
2022 Referee Coach of the YearMarlene Leonard