By BACT Media Unit – 16 December 2022

Basketball ACT is proud to announce the 2023 Under 16 Junior Performance Squads! 

The 2023 Basketball ACT Junior Performance trials were some of the most competitive we’ve ever held. After weeks of trials, coaches identified the players below based on their game sense, teamwork, and sportsmanship among other qualities.

“This year we again had a very competitive trial process that has resulted in a good blend of returning athletes who have come through the programs and multiple athletes who are new to the Basketball ACT Junior Performance environment.” said Aidan Barnett, the 2023 U16 Girls head coach. “As a coaching staff we are excited by the potential of this group, they are athletic, coachable, unselfish and have the ability to play an up tempo and disruptive style of basketball”.

Jarryd Heywood, who will lead the 2023 U16 Boys Junior Performance team as Head Coach was also ecstatic about the trials’ results. “It was awesome to see so many athletes at the trials who are keen to play basketball at a higher level. The trials were competitive and we saw some great progress across the 3 weeks.” 

Regarding the players selected below, Heywood raved: “I’m really excited about the squad we have selected so far. A couple of boys have returned to representative basketball and it’s looking like we will have some nice length and height across the squad, something that will be different from previous years”. 

Here is the 2023 Under 16 Junior Performance roster:

2023 Under 16 Girls Squad

Head Coach: Aidan Barnett

Assistant Coach: Matt Norton

  • Aisha Shave (Rats)
  • Amelia Naughton (TSC)
  • Ava Tawake (Norths)
  • Charlotte Robertson (Daramalan)
  • Eva Maitless (Canberra Grammar)
  • Hena Lomu (Daramalan)
  • Indiana Clowry (Daramalan)
  • Jariah Kivalu (Daramalan)
  • Kaiya Barsby (Radford)
  • Lucy Hoffmeister (Canberra Grammar)
  • Madison Scholfield (Radford)
  • Maya Hart (Norths)
  • Molly Lacey (Rats)
  • Natalia Doogan (Canberra Grammar)
  • Natalie Stincic (WCWD)
  • Olivia Brankovic (Rats)
  • Poppy Smith (Radford)
  • Rachel Cooper (TSC)
  • Sophie Pine (Rats)
  • Tearia Teaiwa Mortimer (Stallions)
  • Tessa Kelley (Norths)
  • Zara Funnell (Norths)
  • Zara Wilson (Canberra Grammar)

Injured Players (still to trial)

  • Annie Wilkie (TSC)

2023 Under 16 Boys Squad

Head Coach: Jarryd Heywood

Assistant Coach: Jerome Borg

Assistant Coach: Martin Edgoose

Manager: Jackie Mellick

  • Ben Schultz (Rats)
  • Biar Wal (TSC)
  • Carlo Caranguian (Stallions)
  • Daniel Schultz (Marist)
  • Finn Wild (Stallions)
  • Hamish O’Sullivan (Radford)
  • Jordan Doherty (Wests)
  • Kanyi Menakaya (Radford)
  • Nicholas Wen (Radford)
  • Njeru Kaumbuthu-Gray (Rats)
  • Oliver Farrell (WCWD)
  • Parker Hobbs (WCWD)
  • Reece Harrigan (TSC)
  • Ryan Gooch (Rats)
  • Samuel Rice (Norths)
  • Samuel Steel (Marist)
  • Vinicius Thomson (Stallions)
  • William MacLeod (WCWD)

Injured Players (still to trial)

  • Ambrose Musgrove (Radford)
  • Austin Zane Fage (Stallions)
  • Ben Godwin (Rats)
  • Hunter Carroll (Marist)
  • Izak Haider (Vikings)
  • Joshua Rooks (Rats)
  • Lachlan Doyle (Queanbeyan)
  • Mitchell Wise (Marist)